Dan Campbell, Pete Carroll, Mike Tomlin rejected for Coach of the Year

The Associated Press announced five finalists for its Coach of the Year award on Wednesday, as usual. The quintet of candidates – the GiantsBrian Daboll, de AccountsSean McDermott, the JaguarsDoug Pederson, the 49ersKyle Shanahan, and the EaglesNick Sirianni – each earn in their own way. Daboll and Pederson led great turnarounds in the first year. Shanahan led a team as third quarterback to the NFC Championship, McDermott guided his team through one of the most terrifying injuries in NFL history, and Sirianni guided Philadelphia to a franchise-record 14 wins.

Three other coaches, however, can plausibly be turned down for the league’s most prestigious coaching award. Here’s a look at who else could have made it onto the list of AP Coach of the Year finalists.

Pete Carroll, Seahawks

The Sea hawks were left for dead by many ahead of the 2022 season. In March, Seattle handed out quarterback Russell Wilson– the face of the franchise for a decade – at the Broncos for an assortment of players and drawing capital. Seattle appeared to start again in a minefield of an NFC West with three 2021 playoff teams, including the defending Super Bowl champion Rams.

Leave a Comment